Thursday, August 17, 2017

Save the Date: Next Freelancers Luncheon on Sept. 21

Save the date: Our next freelancers luncheon will be held on Thursday, September 21 at Graydon from 11:45 am to 1 p.m. Watch for more details soon!

Tuesday, August 1, 2017

Tickets on Sale for Ohio SPJ Awards Ceremony on August 26 in Canton

Ohio’s Best Journalism Contest, sponsored by the Cincinnati, Cleveland and Columbus Society of Professional Journalists (SPJ) chapters statewide, announced its 2017 awards earlier in July. There were 315 awards announced out of 700 entries submitted.

The categories include large circulation print (75,000 or greater), small circulation print (fewer than 75,000), radio, television, digital media, trade organizations, freelance and college. Click here for a full list of categories.

Best of Show distinctions are awarded in all categories except college. Entries were for work done in 2016. The Long Island Press Club did judging.

A luncheon celebration to honor the winners will be held Saturday, Aug. 26, 2017, at noon at the world-renowned Pro Football Hall of Fame in Canton, Ohio. Attendees will have access to Pro Football Hall of Fame exhibits, videos and tours, and see progress for the Johnson Controls Pro Football Hall of Fame Village, a $600 million project being developed at the site in preparation for the NFL’s 100th season in 2019 and centennial celebration in 2020. For more information about the Pro Football Hall of Fame, visit Tickets for the luncheon are $60. To purchase tickets, go to:

Wednesday, July 26, 2017

Hagit Limor to receive Howard Dubin Award

SPJ recognizes two members’ outstanding contributions with Howard Dubin Award
Hagit Limor 
Abbi Martzall, SPJ Awards Coordinator, (317) 920-4791,
Anna Gutierrez, SPJ Communications Coordinator, (317) 920-4785,

INDIANAPOLIS — Miriam Ascarelli and Hagit Limor were selected to receive the Howard S. Dubin Outstanding Pro Member Award from the Society of Professional Journalists for their outstanding contributions to their SPJ chapters and regions.

Each year, this award is given to no more than two members — one from a chapter of 75 or more members and one from less than 75 members. The award is in honor of longtime SPJ member of the Chicago Headline Club Howard Dubin, who not only contributes time and money to the Society but also remains dedicated to service at the chapter level.

Miriam Ascarelli
Ascarelli was nominated by John Ensslin, former national president, and Maureen Nevin Duffy along with members of the New Jersey Pro board. Ascarelli works to make the New Jersey chapter better as its president by resolving difficult situations, maintaining the chapter website, improving membership through encouragement and collaborating with other area groups – all while overseeing her own students and the student newspaper at the New Jersey Institute of Technology.

Hagit Limor
Limor was nominated by Tom McKee, Greater Cincinnati Pro chapter president. Limor served as SPJ national president and is currently serving as the Legal Defense Fund chair and treasurer for the Cincinnati Pro chapter. She has also served on the Sigma Delta Chi Foundation Board and played a prominent role in updating the SPJ Code of Ethics. Limor does all of this as a volunteer while maintaining her career as a journalism professor at the University of Cincinnati.

Ascarelli and Limor will be recognized at Excellence in Journalism 2017 in Anaheim, California, Sept. 7-9.

SPJ promotes the free flow of information vital to informing citizens; works to inspire and educate the next generation of journalists; and fights to protect First Amendment guarantees of freedom of speech and press. Support excellent journalism and fight for your right to know. Become a membergive to the Legal Defense Fund, or give to the Sigma Delta Chi Foundation.

Monday, July 17, 2017

“Breaking the News” - Journalism Bootcamp 2017

Presented by Greater Cincinnati Association of Black Journalists (GCABJ) and Greater Cincinnati Society of Professional Journalists (SPJ), the inaugural “Breaking the News” Journalism Bootcamp was held on Friday, July 14 and Saturday, July 15 at the University of Cincinnati. The event was hosted by UC.

The journalism "boot camp" was designed for high school students interested in journalism. The two-day event included a series of coaching sessions, from the basics of reporting to video and photography skills. On Saturday, there was mock reporting scenario that played out near UC’s campus.

Cincinnati area professional broadcast and print journalists and photographers led the students in a number of sessions on Friday and Saturday. Topics included “Ethics in Journalism” and “Collecting Sounds and Images” to “How to Write a Story.”

Jenny Wohlfarth, Cara Owsley and Ginny McCabe represented the Cincy SPJ chapter at the event. 
Journalism Boot Campers
Campers and Coaches 
Photos courtesy of Cara Owsley

Tuesday, July 11, 2017

EIJ Early-Bird Deadline July 11 - Save $100 on Registration

Early bird registration for #EIJ17 ends on July 11.  Go to to register.