Wednesday, June 10, 2015

Greater Cincinnati Journalism Hall of Fame to induct 25 new members

Greater Cincinnati Pro Chapter



      Twenty-five outstanding journalists will be inducted into the Greater Cincinnati Journalism Hall of Fame on June 18th

     It's the 25th anniversary of the Hall of Fame, which was created by the Greater Cincinnati Pro Chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists.

     The Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will be part of the annual Excellence In Journalism Awards program.

     It will be held from 5:30 to 8:30 p.m. at the offices of Frost Brown Todd, 33rd floor of the Great American Tower, 301 East Fourth Street. 

     Two of the Hall of Fame honorees are Gordon Baer and Jan Leach.

     Baer was a photographer for the Cincinnati Post & Times Star from 1966 through 1971 and then began a free-lance business.

     That business provided stories for local publications such as the Cincinnati Enquirer and Cincinnati Post along with national publications like The New York Times, Newsweek, People, and Business Week,

     Leach's professional journalism career included managing editor positions at the Cincinnati Enquirer, Phoenix Gazette, and Akron Beacon Journal.

     She currently is an assistant professor in the Kent State University School of Journalism and Mass Communication and director of the KSU Media Law Center for Ethics and Access.

     Twenty-three journalists will be inducted posthumously.

LIBBY LACKMAN ACKLAND -- New York Times reporter and Cincinnati Enquirer federal beat reporter.

EVERETT M. BOYD -- Cincinnati Enquirer vice president and associate editor

BOB BRUMFIELD -- Cincinnati Enquirer humor columnist

JANE FINNERAN FARRELL -- Cincinnati Enquirer society/women’s editor and editor of The Cincinnati Blue Book social register

BOB FIRESTONE -- Cincinnati Enquirer day assistant city editor and weekend city editor.

RUTH NEELY FRANCE -- reporter for the Cincinnati Commercial Tribune plus The Cincinnati Post and Times-Star.

DICK HAVLIN -- Cincinnati Enquirer business editor, city editor and news editor.

STEVE HOFFMAN -- Cincinnati Enquirer reporter and TV critic

OLLIE JAMES -- Cincinnati Enquirer lead editorial writer and humor columnist

ALLAN KAIN -- Cincinnati Enquirer Sunday Magazine photographer

STAN MATLOCK -- morning radio personality for 23 years on WKRC-AM, newswriter for WCKY-AM and WKRC-FM

MILDRED MILLER -- Cincinnati Enquirer news columnist

SHARON MALONEY -- Cincinnati Post reporter

GEORGE PALMER -- WKRC-TV news anchor in the 1960's plus a reporter for The Cincinnati Enquirer and Kentucky Enquirer.

E.B. RADCLIFFE -- theater and movie critics for The Cincinnati Enquirer from 1940 to 1969

ELLIS RAWNSLEY -- Cincinnati Enquirer copydesk chief and garden editor

ANN RUSSELL -- Cincinnati Enquirer education and religion reporter

DICK THORNBURGH -- editor of the Cincinnati Post (later the Post & Times-Star)

KIRA LISA WARREN -- editor at the Cincinnati Post for 20 years before moving to the Hamilton Journal-News, where she transformed the paper.

L.D. WARREN -- editorial cartoonist for The Cincinnati Enquirer.

CAMILLA WARRICK -- columnist for The Cincinnati Enquirer and Cincinnati Post.

BETTY DONOVAN RENTROP WESTERFIELD -- Cincinnati Post reporter and military writer.

MARY WOOD -- Cincinnati Post reporter and television critic

     The public is invited to attend the awards program and induction ceremony.  The cost is $30 per person (includes hors d’oeuvre and drinks) or $35 at the door.

     Reservations may be made through Eventbrite or by mail to Tom McKee, President Cincinnati Society of Professional Journalists c/o WCPO –TV, 1720 Gilbert Ave., Cincinnati, OH 45202