Monday, April 1, 2019

66th Scripps Howard Awards to be Held on April 18

The 66th Scripps Howard Awards will be held at Memorial Hall on April 18

Join the Scripps Howard Foundation and host Michelle Miller, correspondent and co-host of “CBS Morning News” and “CBS This Morning: Saturday,” for the 66th Annual Scripps Howard Awards honoring excellence in American journalism.

The show will honor award-winning journalists who have changed outlooks, laws, political practices and our world. They represent the proudest tradition of a free press and exemplify the Scripps Howard Foundation’s purpose of “Giving light. Changing lives.”

The 2018 winners include news organizations large and small, from The New York Times, ProPublica and Frontline PBS, to the South Florida Sun Sentinel and The Dallas Morning News. (View the full list of 2018 winners here:

Reserve tickets to the show at:

Event details:
April 18, 2019
Memorial Hall, 1225 Elm St.
Awards Show: 6:45 p.m.
After-party: 8:30 p.m.

The event is cocktail attire. Immediately after the show, guests are invited to a reception in Memorial Hall’s ballrooms. The show will be broadcast live on, Facebook and YouTube and rebroadcast on Newsy on April 21.

About the Scripps Howard Awards Awards:
With a focus on high-impact reporting, the awards recognize journalism that spurs action, news organizations that go the extra mile to expose previously undisclosed or misunderstood information and journalists who embrace new tools, channels, technologies and approaches to provide more immersive experiences for their audiences.

Among categories including Visual Journalism, Environmental Reporting, Breaking News and Community Journalism, the Awards’ 66th competition continues with the Topic of the Year category, which will be announced at the live awards show April 18. The focus of the 2018 “Topic of the Year” category is “The Midterm Elections.”

The Scripps Howard Awards honor work from television stations, networks, radio and podcasts, visual media, online media outlets, independent producers, newspapers and print publications.

The Foundation’s corporate parent, The E.W. Scripps Company, is the presenting sponsor of the Awards. The Scripps Howard Awards show is produced in partnership with media sponsors, WCPO and Newsy.

About Michelle Miller:
Miller’s reporting has earned her prestigious journalism awards including an Emmy for her reporting on the National Guard’s Youth Challenge Academy and an Edward R. Murrow Award for her coverage of a daycare center standoff in New Orleans. She was part of the Alfred I. duPont-Columbia Award-winning team for coverage of the Newtown, Connecticut, school shooting. Miller earned a Salute to Excellence Award from the National Association of Black Journalists and was voted Woman of the Year by the National Sports Foundation. She has served on the Board of Advisors at Hampton University’s Scripps Howard School of Journalism and Communications.