Saturday, October 3, 2020

Ohio's Best Journalism Contest Announces Winners


COLUMBUS – Ohio’s Best Journalism Contest, sponsored by the Cincinnati, Cleveland and Columbus Society of Professional Journalists (SPJ) chapters statewide, is excited to announce its 2020 awards today. There were 239 awards announced out of 472 entries submitted.

The categories include large circulation print (60,000 or greater), small circulation print (fewer than 60,000), radio, television, digital media, trade organizations, freelance and college. Click here for a full list of categories.

Best of Show distinctions are awarded in all categories except college. Entries were for work done in 2019. Journalists, who work for newspaper, magazines, radio, television, trade, online and college media in Ohio and adjacent states that have significant reach into Ohio were eligible to submit entries, as well as freelance journalists, who are Ohio residents, regardless of where their work was published, broadcast or webcast. Entrants did not need to be members of the Society of Professional Journalists.
Ohio’s Best Journalism is the only Ohio competition that honors journalists who fulfill the SPJ mission: defense of the First Amendment, support of literacy, resistance to censorship, advocacy for openness of public records and meetings, media self-criticism and community service.

Journalists from the Northwest Excellence in Journalism Contest (Alaska, Washington, Oregon, Montana and Idaho) served as judges. Many thanks for your patience as we had hoped to announce winners earlier this month. Unfortunately, judges were delayed by the fires plaguing the Northwest.

Save the date!
We plan to celebrate this year’s winners at a virtual celebration the evening of Friday, Nov. 6, 2020. More details will be forthcoming from the Cleveland Pro Chapter, which is hosting this year’s celebration.

Confirm Names
Attention winners/editors/entry submitters: Please review the list of winners carefully and confirm that the individual and/or individuals listed in the column “Name on Award” are the names that should appear on the awards. Please also confirm the name of the publication is correct. If changes are needed, please email contest administrator Sarah Mills Bacha at as soon as possible.
Visit Awards List
The Society of Professional Journalists is the nation’s most broad-based journalism organization, dedicated to encouraging the free practice of journalism and stimulating high standards of ethical behavior.
Founded in 1909 as Sigma Delta Chi, SPJ promotes the free flow of information vital to a well-informed citizenry through the daily work of its nearly 10,000 members; works to inspire current and future journalists through professional development; and advocates for the protection of the First Amendment guarantee of freedom of speech and press. 
Nationally, SPJ improves and protects journalism through national and local training; advocacy for freedom of Information and resources; its Code of Ethics that encourages responsible reporting; a website filled with career resources –; and a national recognition program for excellence in journalism.